WMI Awards 2018


Led by Territorial Music Secretary Neil Smith, Western Music Institute (WMI) took place Aug. 3–11 at Pine Summit Camp in Big Bear Lake, California. Special guests composer Stephen Bulla and International Songster Leader Dorothy Nancekievill joined the 160 students and 50 staff members for the event, themed “More joy, grace, peace, understanding—More Christ.”

38757651_1944199448970949_2280760911306162176_o 38779949_1944197818971112_372553310160289792_o 38888201_1944196272304600_8037332632133959680_o 38780982_1944195848971309_8901588573027827712_o 38849790_1944197655637795_3974095898543128576_o 39182362_1953200734737487_6027149244522037248_o 39141017_1953201014737459_8969976409569099776_o 39142986_1953207291403498_2557627924979122176_o 38799351_1944201295637431_6391664016581722112_o 39142044_1953197774737783_380715405880066048_o 39165933_1953195838071310_2836611266607316992_o-1 39294429_1953196641404563_6700624413164830720_o

WMI Awards 2018

Chorus Awards

Soprano Pin: Gloria Soriano (Seattle Temple), Gracie Kuyper (San Diego Citadel)

Alto Pin: Grace Norton (Golden State Division), Analise Brown (Seattle Temple), Katie Kim (Eastside Corps)

Tenor Pin: Tyler Griffin (Pasadena Tabernacle), David Reardon (Seattle Temple)

Bass Pin: Devin Petersen (Spokane Citadel)


Band Awards

Cornet Pin: Jeremy Morrison (Portland Tabernacle)

Baritone Pin: David Reardon (Seattle Temple)

Bass Trombone Pin: Ken Santiago (Kona Corps)

Euphonium Pin: Zachary White (Mesa Citadel)

Erik Sholin Eb Bass: Bradley Stires (Salem Kroc Center)

Percussion Pin: Tyler Griffin (Pasadena Tabernacle)


Drama Pin: David Fenrich (Sacramento Citadel)

Praise & Worship Pins: Kimberly Nevarez (El Cajon Corps), Elaine Zumaya (Ventura Corps), Oscar Sanchez (Santa Clara Corps), Braden Begonia (Hawaii Kroc Center Corps)


Watt Family Scholarship ($1,000 for music equipment or lessons): Mark Torres (Cathedral City Corps)


Crestmont Award—Corps award for attendance, soloist participation and people in the highest groups

1st: Salem Kroc Center

2nd: Tustin Ranch

3rd: Anchorage

4th: Pasadena Tabernacle

5th: Portland Tabernacle


Stillwell Award—This award is given to the student who, in the opinion of the faculty, is outstanding in musicianship, deportment, grades, and exemplifies the spirit of Christian living and Salvationism.

1st: Jeremy Morrison, Portland Tabernacle

2nd:  Cody Trimmer, Cathedral City

3rd:  Bradley Stires, Salem Kroc

4th: Tyler Griffin, Pasadena Tabernacle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.